Why?


“Why?”

When I ask that question to the guys in our high school small group, they know exactly what’s happening. We are getting at the root of the symptoms. For example…

Why do you find it so hard to read your Bible?”

“Because I don’t have a lot of time.”

Why don’t you have a lot of time?”

“Because I do a lot of other things?”

Why do you do a lot of other things?”

“Well, some things I have to do, like school, homework, chores. But, to be honest, I waste a lot of time (Insert ‘hobby’ here).

Why?”

“Because it’s comforting, relaxing, I like it, etc.”

“Do those things, which aren’t bad in themselves, satisfy you?”

“No”

Why not?”

“I guess they can’t satisfy.”

Why not?”

“Because they’re earthly things. Earthly things don’t satisfy”

Why not?”

“Because Jesus is the only one who satisfies.”

But whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:14 ESV)

Leave a Reply

