Sunday Service 11/6/11

Text for Sunday:  Matthew 6:19-24

19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. 22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, 23 but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! 24 “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

A couple of weeks ago we began looking at this passage by talking about where our treasure is.  Our treasure is what we love most deeply and what we long for most desperately.  Where is ours?  Is our treasure in the here and now, or is our treasure in heaven.  We concluded that day with the probing question, “when we die, will we be leaving our treasure or going to it?”.

This Sunday we’ll conclude this passage by considering our vision and our master.  What is our vision (iow, what or who so fills our vision that our life becomes defined by our pursuit of it?), and who is our master, “God or mammon”?

I don’t know about you, but in considering these things, I have recognized a disparity between what I say love and what my life (my actions, attitudes, decisions, etc.) says I love the most.  I say with my lips (and I even truly hope this to be true of me) that Jesus is my treasure, my vision, and my master, but far too often my life does not sing the same tune.  There’s a disconnect.  I live life in the world of “here and now”, and it is so easy for my heart to be given to earthly treasures.  I find that my vision is often clouded by worldliness.

But I don’t want this to be true of me.  I want Jesus to truly be my greatest treasure.  I want His glory to so fill my vision that my life becomes defined by the pursuit of glorifying Him.  Only Jesus can transform hearts from treasuring things of this world, to treasuring Him.  Only Jesus can remove the film from our eyes so that we can behold Him in all of His majesty and beauty and glory.  As we prepare for Sunday, let us make the lyrics of this treasured song the prayer of our heart…..

Sunday’s Worship Song List:
Leave a Reply

