Sunday Service 10/2/11

We are beginning a new weekly post here on the NewBranch blog. The purpose of these Sunday Service posts is to help you prepare you heart, soul, and mind for worshipping the living God with your church family on Sunday. You can also use theses posts to purchase songs and load up your ipod!

Here is what’s coming up this Sunday, October 2, 2012:

Be sure to click the links for streaming audio…

Text for this Sunday:  Matthew 5:9-13

 

 9 “This, then, is how you should pray:

   “‘Our Father in heaven, 
hallowed be your name, 
10 your kingdom come, 
your will be done 
   on earth as it is in heaven. 
11 Give us today our daily bread. 
12 Forgive us our debts, 
   as we also have forgiven our debtors. 
13 And lead us not into temptation, 
but deliver us from the evil one.

This passage of Scripture is commonly referred to as The Lord’s Prayer.  It is not really “His prayer”, but it is a model for how “we” should pray.  As you prepare for Sunday, examine your own prayer life, and ask yourself, “how well do my prayers align with this model”?  Do I intentionally recall that I am approaching “our Father”?  Do I really want (not just ask for, but do I really want) His kingdom and His will in my life?  Do I petition Him for my daily bread, or for a year’s worth of all-you-can-eat buffets?  Do I spend more time confessing and repenting of my sins, or do I spend more time asking Him to deal with the sins of others?  Ask yourself these, and other self-evaluative questions, and come ready for the Lord to speak to us corporately about “how we should pray”….focusing not so much on the form of prayer, but on our spirit and attitude in prayer.


2 thoughts on “Sunday Service 10/2/11

  1. I updated this post to include the text we’ll be studying. Then I moved my intro. comment below. Minor formatting issue.

    Hopefully this will be a weekly post that will help us all be prepared to worship and hear from the Lord.

    Blessings,
    Ken

Leave a Reply

