Day 15 – John 6-9

We’ve taken an  inadvertent 2-day hiatus here at Roots Run Deep.  We missed posting devotionals on Day 13 & 14.  Hopefully that hasn’t interfered with anyone’s reading for the 40 Days of Scripture.

Have you ever taken an “inadvertent histus” from your devotional life?  Are you taking one now? 

True confession time.  I took one yesterday.  I didn’t have a “devotional” per se.  I had a couple of short times of prayer, but I never took time to privately spend time in His Word.  And guess what….when I woke up this morning, I was still a Christian!  Hallelujah!  🙂

Maybe you’re running behind in your reading on the 40 Days of Scripture.  Guess what?  So am I!

I’ve used Scripture reading plans for years, and I have never completed a single one without getting behind at some point.

The point of Scripture reading plans (including the 40 Days of Scripture we’re going through currently), is not to simply complete a reading plan.  The point is to spend time in God’s Word and spend time with God, so that He might transform us into the likeness of His Son Jesus Christ by His grace and for His glory.

So, if you’re behind in your reading, I am not going to encourage you to “catch up”.  My encouragement to you is simply to pick up your Bible and read today’s reading.  Don’t worry about yesterday’s reading.  God’s mercies are new every morning.  If you feel a compulsion to “catch up”, please make sure that feeling is from God, and not from your own flesh.  The inherent danger in developing spiritual disciplines that we must always be wary of is a sense of spiritual pride that seeks to convince us that we become “disciplined” as a result of our own self-effort.  This in turn generates greater pride because we become proud of that fact that we read the Bible alot, pray alot, etc.

I need to daily admit that I cannot have any discipline in my walk with God, apart from Jesus Christ abiding in me, and relying on His grace.  I thank Him everyday for His daily mercies.

Today’s reading is awesome.  No need to elaborate too much on it.  Jesus tells us who He is

  • In chapter 6, He says, “I am the bread of life”  – He who comes to Jesus to place all their hope in Him, will never hunger spiritually!  That’s Good News for the spiritually dead!
  • In chapter 7, He says He is “sent” – God “sent” Jesus to us, just as Jesus has “sent us” to the world.  We are a “sent” people.  We are missionaries and ambassadors of God, whether we know it and act like it or not. 
  •  In chapter 8, He says, “I am the light of the world” – Whoever follows Jesus will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life!
  • Later in chapter 8, He says, “I am” – Yes, Jesus brings lots of great things to our lives (salvation, provision, mission, spiritual protection, etc.), but we must never forget that He is God.  He is the 2nd person of the Triune God, our Creator, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  He made that clear in John 8:58:

“Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM”

Jesus, we exalt You as Lord!

2 thoughts on “Day 15 – John 6-9

  1. timing was perfect on this post. I was behind and feeling defeated – as a list person, I can be an all or nothing gal. The Lord told me just yesterday to skip to the reading for that day. Not rocket science but a huge load off my ‘need to be perfect’ list! Thanks for the confirmation of that!!

Leave a Reply

