Behold What Wondrous Grace

Behold What Wondrous Grace!
Lyrics by Isaac Watts (slightly adapted)
Originally published in Hymns and Spiritual Songs in 1707
Arr. by Kevin Sanders

This a re-post from a blog I started devoted to hymns and worship (thirsting soul). Click the link to hear a demo version of the hymn.

In reading some of Watts’ hymns I came across this and fell in love with it. It’s simply a celebration of God’s grace poured out upon His children! Listen with Galatians 4:4-7 in mind…

But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.  (Galatians 4:4-7 ESV)

Lyrics:

Behold what wondrous grace the father has bestowed
on sinners of a mortal race to call them sons of God
‘tis no surprising thing that we should be unknown
the world knew not their King, God’s everlasting son

Nor doth it yet appear how great we must be made
But when we see Him here we shall be like our head

A hope so much divine may trials well endure
to purge our souls from sense and sin
as Christ the Lord is pure

If in my father’s love I share a filial part
send down your spirit O to rest upon my heart

We would no longer lie like slaves beneath the throne
my faith shall Abba cry and thou the kindred own

3 thoughts on “Behold What Wondrous Grace

  1. Lisa- You caught me. I figure if I can grow my hair out like his then maybe I can write awesome hymns like him. 🙂

    Chris- You can download a DEMO of 5 songs I have recently posted. go to noisetrade.com/kevinsanders this song is on there.

Leave a Reply

