He Has Done It

Satan’s greatest lie is a half-truth. When you feel worthless in your sin he whispers in your ear, “You’re not good enough. There is no way you could ever measure up. Your’re dirt! Worthless!”

To which our response should be, “Yes…”

Nothing good dwells in us. We may have the desire to do what is right, but we lack the ability to carry it out (Rom 7:18). Our righteous deeds are like filthy rags (Is. 64:6). Our hearts are deceitful and sick (Jer. 17:9).

This is an essential part of the gospel. BUT it’s only part of it. When Paul reflects on his own wickedness in Romans 7, he concludes, “Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.”

So when the enemy tells you these things in order to burden you, to keep you away from grace, respond firmly with, “Yes… but Christ has died. He has defeated you and all of your ways. You no longer have victory over me. I am no longer your slave. I am know a slave to righteousness. There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. He has done it!”

I recently experienced a time like this. I felt the power of the Spirit as I preached the Gospel to my soul and told the Enemy to leave with his accusations. I was so overwhelmed by the truth of Christ’s goodness despite my wretchedness. I wrote the following song.

I hope and pray this brings you to rest in the goodness of Christ’s gospel:

The days are dark, my eyes are dim
My wickedness is seen
A blackened heart in need of grace
A broken sinner’s plea

My hands, they work for righteousness
But all I build is death
I need the work of nail pierced hands
to bring my soul to rest

My sovereign God has brought me low
so humbled and so weak
Such lowliness is where I dwell
For Christ is all I see

I gaze upon the rugged cross
and search the wounds of Christ
I once was dead in all my sin
now death has brought me life

It is finished
by His blood we are made clean
He has done it
Death, where is your victory?

Christ our Savior
Risen Lamb, King of kings
You are Victor
We will bow before and sing

And now a life to Jesus Christ
By grace I will endure
Though trials come and fires burn
My hope, it is secure

And on that day I’ll stand before
The holy Son enthroned
He’ll wipe away my final tear
and bring this sinner home

One thought on “He Has Done It

Leave a Reply

