Summer Reading

I plan on reading a lot this summer. I decided to make a list of the next 5 books (outside of the books I am reading for Bible College) I am going to read:

1. Gospel Worship by Jeremiah Burroughs
2. Your Jesus is Too Safe: Outgrowing a Drive-Thru, Feel Good Savior by Jared C. Wilson
3. Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp
4. The Christian Life: A Doctrinal Introduction by Sinclair B. Fergueson
5. Jonathan Edwards: A Life by George M. Marsden

What books are you planning on reading this summer?

7 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. After I knock out my paedobaptist/credobaptist paper, I plan on reading:

    Radical by David Platt
    City of God by Augustine
    Boyce by Tom Nettles

    and finishing a slew of books that I’m in the middle of:
    Questioning Evangelism by Randy Newman
    Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller
    CrossTalk by Michael Emlet

    Then I’m not sure what I’ll read come July….(joke)

  2. Right now I am reading–The Excellent Wife by Martha Peace.

    Then I’ll probably go back and forth in the books–

    When People are Big and God is small by Edward Welch
    Right Thinking in a World Gone Wrong by John MacArthur
    The Holiness of God by R.C. Sproul

  3. My absolute favorite thing about summer is having time to catch up on my reading! I will stay up half the night and be in my pajamas all day sometimes just to finish a good book! On my list this summer:

    Created for Commitment by A. Wetherell Johnson, a missionary with China Inland Misson Board in the 40’s and founder of Bible Study Fellowship.

    John Newton: From Disgrace to Amazing Grace by Jonathan Aitken.

    How People Change by Timothy S. Lane.

    Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate by Jerry Bridges.

    Gospel Powered Parenting: How the Gospel Shapes and Transforms Parenting by William P. Farley.

    I Saw the Lord and Magnificent Obsession both by Anne Graham Lotz

    Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters by Timothy Keller

    I could go on to list many more! I start tonight-I can hardly wait!

    Lisa

  4. Counterfeit Gods is one that I have been meaning to read. I love Tim Keller!

    Lisa, that John Newton biography is GREAT. I love biographies and that’s one of the best. Especially when you read of Aitken’s story of redemption.

    I forgot… I’m also reading How People Change.

    These are great lists. Thanks for sharing.

  5. hmm, you guys must have got some free books somewhere 🙂

    Just finished “Your Jesus is too safe”. I like the whole book, but really liked the chapter “Jesus the Lord”. On “Shepharding a child’s heart” be prepared to go back to it again and again, it’s very good.

    Currently reading “What is the Gospel” by Greg Gilbert

    Next few months:

    Crazy Love, Francis Chan
    Radical, David Platt
    Dug Down Deep, Josh Harris

    Then a dead author/theologian, I make it point to read a saint from the past at least every 4th book or so.

    Oh, and the most important book of all: the Bible!

  6. I love to read, and I’m usually reading several at one time.

    Currently I’m reading:
    How People Change – Timothy Lane and Paul Tripp
    Depression – A Stubborn Darkness – Ed Welch
    A Gospel Primer – Milton Vincent
    Augustine of Hippo – Peter Brown

    What’s Next:
    What is the Gospel? – Greg Gilbert
    The Church and the Surprising Offense of God’s Love – Jonathan Leeman

    And though I have enough books to read until Jesus comes back, I’m gonna go buy “radical” by David Platt and squeeze that in as soon as I get it!

  7. Loving all these readings lists so I thought I would read mine, though they are not all spiritually oriented books:

    Just finished: Vintage Church by Mark Driscoll, which was excellent.

    Currently Reading:
    Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer
    The Jesus Way by Eugene Peterson
    How to Write Westerns by Matt Braun
    Strategic Acceleration by Tony Jeary
    Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem (This one, at over 1600 pages, is going to take all year)

    Up Next (for the summer):
    Resurrection Life by Eugene Peterson
    Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams
    Shades of Gray by Jasper Fforde
    The Big Burn by Timothy Egan
    The Highland Clans by Allistair Moffat
    Ireland’s Saint by J.B. Bury
    God as Author by Gene Fant Jr.
    The Purpose of Man by A.W. Tozer
    Total Church by Tim Chester

    Perhaps my list is a little too ambitious for the summer?

Leave a Reply

