The Danger of a Garage

Recently one of my teenage sons has started getting pretty serious about working out.  Every time I turn around he’s exercising like a mad man.  A few months ago, in response to his desire to “pump iron”, I found a used weight bench and bar bell set.  Apparently the “nautilus-type” machine we had was not adequate for his “advanced needs”.  I didn’t mind, though because I’ve been wanting to get back in shape myself.

What we soon noticed, however, was that our garage was being taken over by exercise equipment.  Now, instead of parking my car in the garage, the garage is being used as the in-house Gold’s Gym for my son.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve parked my car in the garage.

After I got over my little pity-party about not having a sheltered home for my hunk of metal on wheels, I realized that there might be an upside to not parking my car in the garage.  This morning as I was leaving my house early to meet with some guys over coffee and a biscuit, I noticed something that I would not have noticed had I parked my car in the garage.  What did I notice?  The sound of birds.  Not just one little chirp either, but a full and continuous symphony of absolutely beautiful song birds.  As I listened, I was reminded of Scripture that talks of how all of creation sings praise to God.

 Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad;
       let the sea resound, and all that is in it;

 let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them.
       Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy;

 they will sing before the LORD, for he comes,
       he comes to judge the earth.
       He will judge the world in righteousness
       and the peoples in his truth.

            (Psalm 96:11-13)

 

The “trees of the forest” were definitely singing near my house this morning, and it reminded me of how worthy the Lord is of our praise, and that He made all of creation to praise Him….not just the birds, but me as well.  How often do I just go through my day accomplishing my goals and tasks and moving from one appointment to another, and never start to sing a heart song of praise to God for the breath He has put in my lungs, for the innumerable blessings He brings to me each day, for the salvation He has graciously afforded me in Christ?  Jesus talked about how if we are silent in our admiration and worship of God, then the rocks will cry out and praise Him in our place.  How often do I let the rocks cry out and sing the praises to God that He wants me to sing?  It’s not about me singing or making music, but it’s about me staying in a posture of worship and exaltation throughout the day. 

Thank You, Lord that You made me, and that You gave me breath this morning, and that You have a task in store for me to accomplish today, and that You have grace not just for my yesterday, but for my today and my tomorrow.  Thank You Lord, for all You are for me and all You do for me….I don’t deserve it, but You deserve my praise!  Help me see You in a truer and fuller light today, so that just as the birds sing their chorus of praise, I might live a life that praises and glorifies You.

And to think….I would have missed this gracious reminder, if I had parked my car in the garage!

Know what else I would have missed?  Noticing and interacting with my neighbors….but that’s a post for another day.

Leave a Reply

