Give Me Belief

I wrote this song several months ago. Over the past few weeks the lyrics have been a sort of daily prayer.

Often times we find ourselves in places of spiritual darkness. The depth of our sin overwhelms us. We read the pages of scripture and relate to it’s most wretched figures. This is an important part of the Gospel; the truth of man’s sinfulness. But we can’t stop there. It’s only part of the picture.

Cling to the cross of Jesus Christ. Remember- For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21). Ask God to give you the faith to believe in His Son for who He truly is; the greatest treasure.

I hope and pray this is a blessing to you.

Give Me Belief
I’m a wanderer
Looking for the road when the map is in my hand
I’m a thirsty man
Begging for a drink out in the pouring rain

When the hand gives
I fall to my knees and I thank the God of grace
But when the hand takes
My faith flies far just like the rushing wind

I walked out on the water and sank
I stared upon the bread and fish and wondered what to think
I’m a faithless man of a faithful God
While the world calls out my name
Give me eyes, give me ears, give me belief

I’m a doubter
I’ve had to feel the wounds too many times before
I’m a traitor
Turning you in for a sack of cash and thrill

When the cross looks
I turn my head and wish you wouldn’t stare
But when the cross speaks
I run to the one who stands with open arms

I walked out on the water and sank
I stared upon the bread and fish and wondered what to think
I’m a faithless man of a faithful God
While the world calls out my name
Give me eyes, give me ears, give me belief


3 thoughts on “Give Me Belief

  1. Stunning song! I love this line:
    “I’m a faithless man of a faithful God.”

    Keep the river flowing and bring on the songs. I would love to help you in any recording needs you might have.

Leave a Reply

